turtle logo

Who we are

Touché and Guy found each other in the puzzling universe of internet because they know those who have a direction and are persevering arrive at their destination and that was how they ended up in each other’s arms, in December 2002, after long hours and days on ICQ (no Skype at the time), and they never stopped walking together since then. After 4 months suffering the distance imposed by geography, Guy went to São Paulo and brought his tropical love to Antwerpen, where they now live.

Since the beginning of their relationship – which turned into an official marriage to make Touché’s stay in Belgium legally possible – they dreamt about working together and as they both share a love for languages and literature the idea of a translation agency was always there, waiting for the right time to know when to move into this. They both had already years of experience working with translations and reviews but having a company demands more than just knowledge: it requires courage and a positive look towards the future, what is not necessarily easy for those who believe in honesty and hard work.

Besides their love for letters, they also share a deep passion for photography and traveling to other places has been their greatest life investment. Getting to learn how other people think and express their emotions, visiting various types of buildings, tasting new flavours, experiencing new cultures... they never cease to wonder and try to understand how our planet evolves, changes and how nature and people can survive the changing times. As nature-lovers they focus on keeping its wonders and excitement through Guy’s artistic talent with a camera. Their websites are a combination of images and texts that aim at keeping the sense of beauty alive.

As a teacher, Touché chose to work with a person-to-person approach, because this is the way to ‘dive’ into the new world that each student represents, and this personal contact allows a nice way to learn. Modern technologies have opened a wide window for those who need/want to learn another language without the restrictions imposed by physical distance.

TOUCHEGUY is the result of years of dreaming, learning, planning and... doing! We are very happy to introduce our company to you and hope you will be willing to work with.

Welcome!

Touché Guimarães

"No Guru, No Method, No Teacher"
(Van Morrison)

Touché is passionate about life and is not afraid to be happy. This has always led her to launch into adventures of various types and unforeseen results. “Everything has its positive side,” she believes, confident in the new horizons that each learning brings.

Poet of the dawn, whose inspiration comes from everything and from nothing, writer of chronicles that translate her point of view on facts and people whose importance exists as an extension of her emotions. She became known for her tenacity, perseverance, intolerance and excessive attachment to the truth, which have always led her to many confrontations and great controversies, which she experiences with the complex totality of het artistic being.

Always interested in different geographies and cultures, she turned the study of languages into the natural way to realize dreams and plans, that became ever more concrete after she found het love, embarking on a journey of romance, sharing and complicity. Supported by her father in the discovery of new sounds and places, guided by her mother on the tracks of the arts, accompanied on her adventures by the affection and concern of her brothers, who know that their rebellious sister is always at the same time far away and nearby, Touché has never given up her dreams.

Born in Rio de Janeiro, her life in Antwerp has allowed her to experience dual nationality and the rich experience of being an immigrant, which she understands as the possibility of translating and diffusing the Latin and European cultures, what she has done through her texts and the beautiful photographs het husband makes.

With her profound sense of organisation, she worked for many years as executive secretary in Sao Paulo, Brazil, a profession that allowed het to develop her natural practicality and to find solutions to problems of varied types and origins, as well as developing an ever growing network of contacts around the world, an attitude that anticipates the current social media. Understanding ideas and behaviours has been a source of study and inspiration for this dissident writer, who refused to publish her literary work, as she believes it to be the right of the artist to divulge her art among those people she chooses as her audience.

It was the knowledge of different languages that showed her the way to freelance work, and made her decide to give private lessons when she finished her activities as secretary. When she returned to Brazil after a frustrated attempt to emigrate to Australia, she developed her own teaching method, directed at each student in particular, taking into account the student’s tastes, needs and abilities. This anti-academic and intuitive way of conducting language courses has proved to be very efficient and the progress of her students gives her great satisfaction as she accompanies their growth and development.

Touché prefers nature and animals and works to contribute to a growing awareness of the need to protect all forms of life. She definitely prefers children over adults, and always kept the enchanted gaze of childhood when looking at the universe.

Guy Voets

"By myself I wouldn't
Have no boss,
But I'd be raisin' my lonely Dental Floss"

(Frank Zappa - 'Montana')

Guy hails from a house full of books, full of wisdom and the teachers to pass it on. Books by the Tachtigers (1880) and the Vijftigers or Cobra Movement (1950) for Dutch literature, le nouveau roman for the French. He learned to read with Bulletje en Bonestaak and with Annie M.G. Schmidt.

He felt himself more attracted by nature and in his teens spent almost every week-end in the fields and woods to learn more about plants and animals. He realised quite soon that protecting nature and keeping our environment liveable would require a radical change of society. The workers’ struggles in France in 1968, the conflictive socio-political environment,... it all pointed in the same direction. The intense political contacts that arose from this, brought a constant flow of translations, simultaneous and on paper. The language triangle between Dutch, French and English became a daily activity.

After several fruitless, but fascinating years at university, he found work in the theatre, not on the scene (no, thank you, not under the limelight, nor at the blackboard), but behind the scenes. He was dramaturge, composed program books and school folders, and also translated a few plays (by D. Mamet, A. Ayckbourn, D. Margulies) staged by the company. In a second theatre, he designed the website that went online in several languages.

The first contacts with Touché were held in the internet language ‘by default’, English. But once they knew of each other that they both talked French, they switched to the romantic idiom. When she arrived in Belgium, Touché studied Dutch, but also Italian. Guy enjoyed learning Brazilian... it sounds like a laid-back version of Portuguese. Now they speak some kind of Babylonian among themselves. Every language brings its own nuance to a concept, sometimes you can better use the English word, then again the French version fits the purpose better... or you just take the first word in any language that shoots through your head.

visit our webpages about us, our travels, et cetera

we thank you for your preference

turtle logo

Qui nous sommes

Touché et Guy se sont trouvés dans l’univers énigmatique de l’Internet, parce qu'ils savent que celui qui a une direction dans sa vie et persévère, arrivera à sa destination. C’est ainsi que fin décembre 2002, ils se sont tombés dans les bras l'un de l'autre après d’interminables heures et jours sur ICQ (pas de Skype à ce moment-là) et depuis, ils se promènent ensemble dans la vie et dans le monde. Après avoir souffert pendant quatre mois la distance qui les sépara, Guy atterrit à São Paulo et ramena son amour tropical à Antwerpen, où ils vivent maintenant.

Depuis le début de leur relation – qui fut transformée en un mariage officiel pour légaliser le séjour de Touché en Belgique – ils rêvent de pouvoir travailler ensemble et comme ils partagent un amour pour les langues et la littérature, l’idée d’une agence de traduction était toujours présente, attendant le bon moment auquel elle pourrait se réaliser. Ils avaient tous les deux des années d’expérience avec des traductions et des relectures, mais commencer une entreprise demande plus que la connaissance : il faut du courage et un regard positif vers l’avenir, ce qui n’est pas forcément facile pour ceux qui croient en l’honnêteté et le travail sérieux.

Outre leur amour pour les lettres, ils partagent une passion profonde pour la photographie et voyager à des endroits près et lointains a été le plus grand investissement de leur vie. Apprendre comment les autres pensent et expriment leurs émotions, visiter différents types de bâtiments, déguster de nouvelles saveurs, découvrir de nouvelles cultures... ils ne cessent de s’émerveiller et d’essayer de comprendre comment notre planète évolue, change et comment la nature et les gens survivent aux temps changeants. En tant qu’amoureux de la nature, ils se concentrent sur la sauvegarde de sa beauté vivante à travers le talent artistique de Guy avec sa caméra. Leurs sites web combinent les images et les textes qui visent à garder vivant le sens de la beauté.

En tant que professeur, Touché préfère une approche de personne à personne, parce que de cette façon elle ‘plonge’ dans le nouveau monde que chaque élève représente, et ce contact personnel rend possible une manière d'apprendre plus agréable. Les technologies modernes ont ouvert une grande fenêtre pour ceux qui veulent apprendre une autre langue sans les limitations imposées par la distance physique.

TOUCHEGUY est le résultat d’années de rêver, d’apprendre, de faire des plans et... d’agir. Nous sommes heureux de vous présenter notre entreprise et espérons que vous voulez travailler avec nous.

Soyez les bienvenus !

Touché Guimarães

« No Guru, No Method, No Teacher  »
  (Van Morrison)

Touché est passionnée par la vie et n’a pas peur d’être heureuse, ce qui lui a conduit à se lancer dans de nombreuses aventures de différentes sortes et avec des résultats inattendus. « Tout a son coté positif, » dit-elle, confiante dans les nouveaux horizons que chaque apprentissage apporte.

Poète de l’aube, dont l’inspiration vient de tout et de rien, écrivaine de chroniques qui traduisent son point de vue sur les événements et les personnes dont l’importance existe comme une extension des ses émotions, elle s’est fait connaître pour sa ténacité, sa persévérance, son intolérance et son attachement excessif à la vérité, qui l'ont toujours conduite à de nombreuses confrontations et de grandes controverses, qu’elle vit avec la totalité complexe de son âme d’artiste.

Toujours intéressée dans différentes cultures et zones géographiques, elle s’est donnée à l’étude des langues comme une façon naturelle d’atteindre ses rêves et plans, qui sont devenus toujours plus concrets depuis qu’elle a trouvé son amour, avec lequel est s’est lancée dans un voyage de romance, de partage et de complicité. Soutenue par son père dans la découverte de nouveaux sons et lieux, guidée par sa mère sur les sentiers des arts, suivie avec inquiétude et affection dans ses aventures par ses frères, qui savent que leur sœur rebelle est toujours proche même si elle est lointaine, Touché n'a jamais désistée de ses rêves.

Née à Rio de Janeiro, sa vie à Antwerpen lui a permis de découvrir la double nationalité et la riche expérience d’être une immigrante, ce qu’elle interprète comme la possibilité de traduire et diffuser les cultures latine et européenne, à travers ses textes et les belles photos faites par son mari.

Douée avec un profond sens de l’organisation elle a travaillé de nombreuses années comme secrétaire exécutive à São Paulo, Brésil, profession qui lui a permis de développer son esprit pratique naturel et de trouver des solutions aux problèmes les plus divers, ainsi que d’établir un réseau toujours grandissant de contacts dans le monde entier, une attitude précurseur aux médias sociaux actuels. Comprendre les idées et les comportements a été une source d’étude et d’inspiration pour cet écrivain dissidente qui a refusé de publier son œuvre littéraire, étant convaincue que c’est le droit de l’artiste de divulguer son art parmi les personnes qu’elle choisit comme audience.

Ce fut sa connaissance de différentes langues qui l’a montré le chemin vers le travail comme free-lance et qui l'a fait décider de donner des cours particuliers quand elle a terminé sa carrière comme secrétaire. De retour au Brésil après une tentative infructueuse d’émigrer en Australie, elle a mis au point sa propre méthode d’enseigner, adaptée à chaque élève en particulier, tenant compte des goûts, besoins et capacités de chacun. Sa façon anti-académique et intuitive d’enseigner les langues s’est montrée très efficace et le progrès de ses élèves lui donne la grande satisfaction de pouvoir accompagner les personnes dans leur croissance et développement.

Touché préfère la nature et les animaux et elle travaille pour contribuer à une prise de conscience de la nécessité de protéger toutes les formes de vie. En définitive, elle préfère les enfants aux adultes et elle a toujours gardé le regard enchanté de l’enfant vers l’univers.

Guy Voets

« By myself I wouldn't
  Have no boss,
  But I'd be raisin' my lonely Dental Floss »

  (Frank Zappa - 'Montana')

Guy est né dans une maison pleine de livres, pleine de sagesse et des enseignants pour la transmettre. Des livres des Tachtigers (1880) et des Vijftigers ou Mouvement cobra (1950) pour la littérature néerlandophone, le nouveau roman pour la francophone. Il apprit à lire avec Bulletje et Bonestaak et avec Annie M.G. Schmidt.

Il se sentit plus attiré par la nature et dès ses 11 ans, il partait presque chaque fin de semaine dans les bois et dans les champs pour y apprendre davantage sur les plantes et les animaux. Assez vite, il se rendit compte que la conservation de la nature et la sauvegarde de notre environnement exigent un changement radical de la société. Les luttes ouvrières en France en mai 1968 et l'ambiance socio-politique conflictuelle indiquaient tous dans la même direction... Les contacts politiques intenses que cela suscitait amenaient un flot constant de traductions, simultanées et sur papier. Le triangle linguistique entre le néerlandais, le français et l’anglais devenait une activité quotidienne.

Après quelques années infructueuses mais fascinantes à l’université, il trouva du travail au théâtre, non pas sur scène (non, merci, pas sur les planches, ni devant le tableau), mais dans les coulisses, composant les livrets programme, les dossiers pour les écoles, la dramaturgie et aussi la traduction de quelques pièces (par D. Mamet, A. Ayckbourn, D. Margulies) qui étaient montées par la troupe. Dans le second théâtre, il conçut le site web qui était mis en ligne en plusieurs langues.

Les contacts initiaux avec Touché se faisaient dans la langue Internet « par défaut », l’anglais. Mais dès qu’ils savaient que les deux parlaient le français, ils passaient à cet idiome romantique. Dès son arrivée en Belgique Touché apprit le néerlandais, mais également l’italien. Guy aima apprendre le brésilien... ça sonne comme une version décontractée du portugais. Entr’eux, ils parlent maintenant une sorte de babylonien. Chaque langue apporte sa nuance à tout concept, parfois il vaut mieux utiliser le mot en anglais, puis la version française est plus à sa place... ou on utilise le premier mot qui passe par la tête, quelle que soit la langue.

visitez nos pages web à propos de nous, nos voyages, etc.

nous vous remercions pour votre préférence