turtle logo

What we do

It is probably expected that we restrict this information to our professional skills but we do not limit our activities to work. Because we love what we do for our clients and students we do care about other aspects of life, like staying healthy, living in peace, having good friends and keeping good humour!

As linguists, we try as much as possible to build bridges between different people and cultures and that we do at our utmost quality, that means considering not only the translation of words and expressions but adapting those to the reality of the cultures where they are used.

This requires more than specific expertise and in order to keep ourselves updated with the world we go... see the world! We love to travel and do it as often as we can. Being among different people gives us the wonderful opportunity of learning from their habits, ways of living and how they use the language to express themselves. Besides this practical (and exciting) linguistic study we also document what we see with pictures focusing on nature, architecture and diverse particularities that we always see around.

While Guy cares for the images, Touché never misses the chance to write and many of her poems and chronicles are inspired by these unexpected moments. We believe in the art of sharing experiences and the knowledge they bring and this is the guideline for Touché’s classes where learning a new language becomes an exciting adventure into a new world. Private classes mean a mutual and enriching way to personal growth and modern technologies open the possibility to learn another language wherever people are. However, in spite of our long training our cat Zoentje has not yet given us a prize for our cat-talk... We keep on trying!

Translations

As translators, both Touché and Guy are guided by the conviction that translating implies creating a bridge between two cultures, what sure means much more than simply building a technical link between words. Their experiences as globetrotters have proven to be very important when facing the challenge that each text represents.

The deciphering of the Rosetta Stone, upon which a decree published in Memphis in 196 BC was recorded in three different scripts, remains the essential key to the activity of translation and an indispensable reference for the communication between different civilisations and cultures.

In Antiquity, it were the sages who were concerned with establishing the relationship between texts written in different languages. Much has changed since then and today modern technologies often give the illusion that in order to translate all that is needed is to know how to click.

Touché and Guy are translators who use the possibilities of modernity with the spirit of research of the stone decipherers.

Language lessons on-line

  1. Technical means: Skype, Facetime or similar, with webcam, maybe headset.
  2. Didactical material: dictionary, notebook, various texts, photos, images, videos.
  3. Manual used: none in particular
  4. Modus operandi: I always worked the artisan way, basing the teaching on the smoothest ways for learning, and most of all focused on the student's points of interest and needs, taking into account the student's individual characteristics. That is also why I do not follow a particular book. Texts, images or videos are the free choice of each student. Because the lessons are personalized, I enter into the world of my student and vice-versa, and this implies that somehow we are in tune.
    After assessing the student's level, needs and goals, we ease into the use of the new language: first things first. From the simplest to the less simple, towards knowledge. We use image and voice, for the oral expression and pronunciation, the chat window for writing.
    I think that becoming a walking encyclopedia is quite useless. If you wish to learn another language, you want to be able to express yourself and to understand on a daily basis. And thus, after each explanation about grammar we immediately pass on to the practical use.
  5. Regular courses: except when the student needs an intensive study, we stick to two lessons per week, of one hour or one hour and a half each, preferably with a day of rest in between. At this rate, the student will usually be able to communicate quite well in the new language after one year, depending of course on their commitment, regularity and motivation that are fundamental to reach good results. Payment will be made monthly, at a moment agreed between us.
  6. Specific courses: during a limited period of time and with a value agreed between us for the total of lessons planned. Lessons that can't take place due to unilateral decision of the student will have to be paid and are not rescheduled.
  7. Delays: in case the student does not appear within 15 minutes of the time that was appointed, the lesson will have to be paid. I give much importance to punctuality, so in case I am late myself, I will not only ask for patience, but also for good vibes...
  8. Absences: we look for flexibility from both sides, because unforeseen things may happen. In case of absences that were not advised by the student, the class will be charged and not rescheduled. When the absence was discussed in advance, the student will not have to pay and will have the option to reschedule the lesson at another time, as is the case when I have to cancel a class.
  9. Cancellations: should be preferably made with up to 24 hours before the scheduled time. For serious situations and/or reasons of force majeure, impossible to be notified in advance, the class can be rescheduled. It is always best to inform as soon as possible to avoid misunderstandings regarding schedules as well as unnecessary worries.
  10. Fees: these are decided individually because I always take into consideration the personal situation of each student. Knowledge is not a product for sale... Teaching is having the privilege to progress along with the student, not a source of profit. So I think so I work, so I understand the remuneration of my activity as a teacher.
What more? The prerequisite: lessons have to be enjoyable, for both sides. We have trust and freedom to express our ideas, emotions and oppositions. And as far as explanations are concerned, there are always different possibilities and alternatives. What counts is not to let doubts accumulate in order to learn well!
Dialogue is fundamental, especially when it comes to learning languages!

Photos

You can see a lot of Guy's photos on our webpages, on his own website and the pages about some places we visited, about mushrooms and waterfalls - and some of Touché’s favourites on her site.

Since January 2017, we have been posting pictures on the 500px.com website (site opens in a new tab). You will find several galleries there with Guy's work. You can also buy our photos directly from the site, or just 'like' them.

Selinous temple in Sicilia (Italy, 2011)

Selinous, ancient Greek temple in Sicilia (Italy, 2011)

Frolicking Toddlers, Bassin d'Arcachon (France, 2015)

Frolicking Toddlers, Bassin d'Arcachon (France, 2015)

Gozo's Azure Window, now collapsed (Malta, 2013)

Gozo's Azure Window, now collapsed (Malta, 2013)

Delicate Wood Sorrel, Zevenbergen (Belgium, 2016)

Delicate Wood Sorrel, Zevenbergen (Belgium, 2016)

Mating Anyone? Tree Frog, Sarapiquí (Costa Rica, 2016)

Mating Anyone? Tree Frog, Sarapiquí (Costa Rica, 2016)

Quinta Santo Antonio, Elvas (Portugal, 2012)

Quinta Santo Antonio, Elvas (Portugal, 2012)

Beach Dweller, Barra Grande, Bahia (Brazil, 2003)

Beach Dweller, Barra Grande, Bahia (Brazil, 2003)

Natural Roof Garden, Lysefjorden (Norway, 2009)

Natural Roof Garden, Lysefjorden (Norway, 2009)

Phallus indusiatus, Nature's Eroticism, Si Phan Don (Laos, 2002)

Phallus indusiatus, Nature's Eroticism, Si Phan Don (Laos, 2002)

XIth century Khmer Temple, Phimai (Thailand, 2002)

XIth century Khmer Temple, Phimai (Thailand, 2002)

Loosestrife at the Semois River (Belgium, 2003)

Loosestrife at the Semois River (Belgium, 2003)

visit our webpages about us, our travels, et cetera

we thank you for your preference

turtle logo

Ce que nous faisons

On attend sans doute que nous nous limitons à donner des informations sur nos compétences professionnelles, mais nos activités sont plus larges que le travail. Nous aimons ce que nous faisons pour nos clients et élèves, et nous nous occupons également d’autres aspects de la vie, comme rester en bonne santé, vivre en paix, garder les bonnes amitiés, l’humour et une bonne humeur !

En tant que linguistes, nous essayons toujours de construire des ponts entre différents peuples et cultures et nous y investissons la plus haute qualité. Une traduction n’est pas seulement transcrire les mots et les expressions, mais également les adapter à la réalité de la culture où ils seront utilisés.

Cela demande plus que des compétences spécifiques et afin de nous tenir à jour avec le monde, nous... visitons le monde ! Nous aimons voyager et le faisons autant que nous pouvons. Être parmi les habitants d’autres endroits nous donne la merveilleuse possibilité d’apprendre de leurs habitudes, leur mode de vie et de comment ils utilisent la langue pour s’exprimer. Outre cette étude linguistique pratique (et passionnante), nous documentons ce que nous voyons avec des images qui mettent l’accent sur la nature, l’architecture et les diverses particularités que nous observons autour de nous.

Alors que Guy s’occupe des images, Touché ne rate pas une seule occasion pour écrire ses poèmes et chroniques qui sont inspirés par les moments inattendus. Nous croyons à l’art de partager les expériences et les connaissances et celles-ci apportent une ligne directrice aux classes de Touché où l’apprentissage d’une nouvelle langue devient une aventure passionnante dans un monde nouveau. Les cours privés ouvrent une voie enrichissante pour une croissance personnelle et les technologies modernes permettent d'étudier n'importe où on se trouve. Cependant, en dépit de notre longue expérience avec traductions, révisions et cours, notre chat Zoentje ne nous a pas octroyé un diplôme pour notre connaissance de la langue-chat. Nous continuons à faire des efforts !

Traductions

Comme traducteurs, Touché aussi bien que Guy sont guidés par la certitude que traduire signifie créer un pont entre deux cultures, ce qui est bien plus que mettre simplement un lien technique entre des mots. Leur expérience comme voyageurs du monde se montre très importante lorsqu’ils font face au défi que chaque traduction représente.

Le déchiffrement de la Pierre de Rosette, où un décret publié à Memphis en 196 aC a été enregistré dans trois écritures différentes, reste la clé essentielle de l'activité de traduction et une référence indispensable pour la communication entre différentes cultures et civilisations.

Dans l'antiquité, c'étaient les savants qui s'occupaient d'établir la relation entre les textes écrits dans différentes langues. Beaucoup a changé depuis et aujourd'hui, les technologies modernes donnent souvent l'illusion que pour traduire il suffit de savoir faire des clics.

Touché et Guy sont des traducteurs qui utilisent les possibilités de la modernité avec l'esprit de recherche des déchiffreurs de la pierre...

Leçons de langue par Internet

  1. Recours techniques: Skype, Facetime (ou similaire) avec webcam.
  2. Matériel didactique: dictionnaire, cahier de notes, textes variés, photos, images.
  3. Manuel: aucun en particulier.
  4. Modus operandi: J’ai toujours travaillé artisanalement, basant l’enseignement sur les points les plus faciles à apprendre et surtout axé sur les questions/besoins de l’élève, en tenant compte de ses caractéristiques individuelles. C’est pourquoi je n’utilise aucun manuel en particulier. Les textes, images et vidéos sont choisis par l’élève individuellement. Comme les cours sont personnalisées, j’entre dans le monde de mon élève et vice-versa, ce qui implique une bonne syntonie comme condition préalable.
    Après avoir évalué le niveau de connaissances de l’élève, ses nécessités et objectifs, nous établissons l’usage de la nouvelle langue avec calme, les premières choses d’abord. Du plus simple au moins simple, en direction de la connaissance. Nous utilisons l’image et la voix, pour l’expression orale et la prononciation, et le clavier de l’ordinateur pour les questions d’écriture quand les cours se passent en ligne.
    Je pense que les personnes encyclopédiques ne servent à grand-chose. Celui qui cherche à apprendre une autre langue veut être en mesure de s’exprimer et comprendre au quotidien. Ainsi, après chaque explication de la grammaire, nous passons immédiatement à l’utilisation pratique.
  5. Cours réguliers: à moins que l’étudient ait besoin d’une étude intense, on se tient à 2 cours par semaine, d’une ou une heure et demie, de préférence avec un jour de repos entr’elles. À ce rythme, l’élève sera capable après environ une année de communiquer dans la nouvelle langue, en fonction évidemment de son engagement, assiduité et motivation qui sont essentiels pour un bon résultat. Le paiement s’effectuera chaque mois au jour convenu entre nous.
  6. Cours spécifiques: à court terme auront une valeur convenue à l’avance pour l’ensemble des classes. Les classes annulées par décision unilatérale de l’élève seront facturées et non reprogrammées.
  7. Retards: si l’élève ne se présente pas dans les 15 minutes après l’heure fixée, la classe sera facturée. Je donne la priorité à la ponctualité et quand je serai en retard, je ne demande pas seulement un peu de patience, mais aussi de bonnes vibrations...
  8. Absences: Nous voulons la flexibilité des deux côtés, des imprévus peuvent arriver. En cas d’absence non annoncée à l’avance par l’élève, la leçon ne sera pas replanifiée et sera facturée. Quand l’absence est annoncée, l’élève ne devra pas payer la leçon et elle pourra être replanifiée, comme dans le cas où moi je serai absente.
  9. Annulations: doivent être faites avec 24 heures d’antécédence si possible. Pour des situations graves et de force majeure, impossibles à être prévues, la leçon peut être replanifiée. Le contact le plus rapide possible n’évitera pas seulement les mal-entendus par rapport aux horaires, mais aussi les soucis inutiles.
  10. Honoraires: sont décidés cas par cas, parce que je tiens toujours compte de la situation personnelle de chaque élève. La connaissance n’est pas un produit à vendre... Enseigner est avoir le privilège de faire des progrès ensemble avec l’élève, pas une source de profit. C’est ainsi que je pense, ainsi que je travaille et que je considère la rémunération de mon activité en tant que professeur.
Et ensuite ? La condition : les classes doivent être agréables pour les deux parties. Nous avons la confiance et la liberté de manifester nos idées, émotions et oppositions. Et quand il s’agit d’explications, il y a toujours des possibilités et alternatives différentes. Ce qui est important pour apprendre bien, c’est de ne pas laisser des doutes s’accumuler !
Le dialogue est fondamental, surtout quand il s’agit de l’apprentissage de langues !

Photos

Vous pouvez voir un tas de photos faites par Guy à nos pages web pages web, sur son propre site et les pages que nous avons faites à propos d’endroits que nous avons visités, à propos de champignons et de cascades – et quelques-unes des photos favorites de Touché sur son site.

A partir de janvier 2017, nous avons posté des photos sur le site 500px.com (cliquez sur le link pour ouvrir un nouveau onglet). Vous y trouverez plusieurs galeries avec le travail de Guy. Vous pouvez acheter ses photos directement, ou simplement les « liker ».

Selinous, ancien temple grec en Sicile (Italy, 2011)

Selinous, ancien temple grec en Sicile (Italie, 2011)

Poupées dansantes, Bassin d'Arcachon (France, 2015)

Poupées dansantes, Bassin d'Arcachon (France, 2015)

La Fenêtre d'azur à Gozo, écroulée en mars 2017 (Malta, 2013)

La Fenêtre d'azur à Gozo,
écroulée en mars 2017 (Malta, 2013)

La délicate oseille des bois, Zevenbergen (Belgique, 2016)

La délicate oseille des bois, Zevenbergen (Belgique, 2016)

Grenouille arboricole cherche copine, Sarapiquí (Costa Rica, 2016)

Grenouille arboricole cherche copine, Sarapiquí (Costa Rica, 2016)

Quinta Santo Antonio, Elvas (Portugal, 2012)

Quinta Santo Antonio, Elvas
(Portugal, 2012)

Habitant de la plage, Barra Grande, Bahia (Brésil, 2003)

Habitant de la plage, Barra Grande, Bahia (Brésil, 2003)

Jardin naturel sur le toit, Lysefjorden (Norvège, 2009)

Jardin naturel sur le toit, Lysefjorden (Norvège, 2009)

Phallus indusiatus, nature érotique, Si Phan Don (Laos, 2002)

Phallus indusiatus, nature érotique, Si Phan Don (Laos, 2002)

Temple khmer du XIe siècle, Phimai (Thaïlande, 2002)

Temple khmer du XIe siècle, Phimai (Thaïlande, 2002)

Salicaire commune au bord de la Semois (Belgique, 2003)

Salicaire commune au bord de la Semois (Belgique, 2003)

visitez nos pages web à propos de nous, nos voyages, etc.

nous vous remercions pour votre préférence