turtle logo

Terms & Conditions

These Terms and Conditions apply to all legal relations between the freelance translation business Toucheguy (hereafter: the translator) and the physical or juridical person who gives the assignment to the translator (hereafter: the client), to the exclusion of any terms and conditions or different conditions in orders, purchase orders or the like used by the client, unless the translator has agreed to these explicitly and in writing.

  1. Quotations, Conclusion of Contract

    1. All quotations and offers by the translator are made without obligation.
    2. From quotations, offers or (outline) agreements in the past no rights can be derived for future assignments.
    3. Quotations and stated deadlines may be revoked at all times if the translator was unable to see the full text on beforehand. Assignments are established by written acceptance by the client of the quotation from the translator or – if no quotation was submitted – by written acceptance by the translator of the assignment provided by the client. From that moment on the client has the obligation to pay.
    4. At the conclusion of the contract, the client immediately provides the translator all documents, resources, glossaries and other materials necessary or useful to fulfil the assignment, unless otherwise agreed in the contract. When key materials are delivered with delay by the client, the deadline will implicitly be extended with a period equal to that delay, or the translator is still entitled to refuse the order.
    5. The sending of said documents is always at the cost and risk of the client.
    6. The translator may consider as client the person who extended the assignment, unless this person has explicitly mentioned s/he acts in the name of and for the account of a third party whose name and address are provided to the translator at the conclusion of the contract.
  2. Modification and Cancellation of Assignments

    1. If the client, after the conclusion of the agreement, makes changes to the job that are more than minor changes, the translator is entitled to revise the deadline and/or fee, or to refuse the order yet. In the latter case, the client has to pay the part of the job that was already completed.
    2. If the client cancels an assignment, s/he has to pay the part of the job that was already completed, as well as a compensation based on an hourly rate for research work already carried out for the remaining part of the translation. Moreover, the client has to pay a fixed compensation of 25 % of the agreed fee, with a minimum of € 50 to cover administration costs. The translator will put the part of the job already translated at the client's disposal.
  3. Execution of Assignment, Confidentiality

    1. The translator is required to execute the assignment to the best of his professional abilities and knowledge and to perform it in accordance with the requirements of good craftsmanship.
    2. The translator will treat all information provided by the client as strictly confidential.
    3. Unless explicitly agreed otherwise, the translator has the right to have a third party execute (part of) the assignment, without prejudice to her/his responsibility to the confidential treatment and the proper execution of the assignment. The translator will require confidentiality from potential collaborators. However, the translator is not liable for any breach of confidentiality by these collaborators.
    4. The translator can not be held responsible for errors and defects in the text delivered by the client.
  4. Deadlines and Delivery Dates

    1. The agreed delivery date is a target date, unless explicitly agreed otherwise in writing. The translator is required, as soon as s/he knows that timely delivery will not be possible, to inform the client immediately about this.
    2. In case of attributable overstepping of the agreed deadline, the client is entitled, if the execution of the job cannot reasonably be awaited any longer, to cancel the assignment unilaterally. In latter case, the translator is not required to pay any compensation.
    3. Delivery of the translation shall be deemed to have taken place at the time it was sent. Delivery of data send by electronic means is deemed to have taken place when the program has confirmed the transmission.
  5. Fees and Payment

    1. Translation fees are normally based on a rate per word. For work other than translation, a fee on the basis of an hourly rate can be charged.
    2. All amounts are stated in euro and exclusive of Value Added Tax (VAT), unless explicitly agreed otherwise.
    3. If a term of payment has been agreed, payment must be made within this time limit. In all other cases payments must be made within 30 days, in accordance with the European Directive 2000/35/EC.
    4. In case of late payment, the client is immediately and without notice in default, in which case the client is required to pay the statutory interest over the invoice amount from the day of default to the moment of full settlement of the invoice.
    5. All judicial and extrajudicial collection costs, including legal fees, bailiffs’ fees and costs of debt recovery services, shall be paid by or charged to the client.
    6. In case of non-compliance with the agreed terms of payment by the customer, all outstanding invoices and/or debts become due immediately and the translator is entitled, without formal notice or judicial intervention, to suspend further deliveries and/or services, or to consider the assignment as dissolved, without prejudice to her/his claim for compensation.
    7. The translator is entitled, before starting to work, to request payment in advance or in instalments during the execution of the assignment. If the client in such a case does not comply with the payment terms in accordance with item 5.iii above, the translator is entitled to suspend his obligations and/or cancel the assignment. In case of suspension and/or cancellation of the assignment, the translator retains the right to compensation for the work already carried out.
    8. If the client considers that the amounts invoiced to her/him by the translator are incorrect, s/he is bound to formulate in writing, specifying her/his objections within the payment term defined in item 5.iii above. If the conditions stated in this article are not met, the client loses the right to object against the value or composition of the amount invoiced.
  6. Complaints and Disputes

    1. The client shall report complaints about the work delivered as soon as possible and in writing to the translator and in any case within 10 (ten) working days after delivery. Filing a complaint does not relieve the client from the obligation to pay within the fixed term of payment.
    2. If the complaint is founded, the translator will improve or replace the work within a reasonable time, or, if the translator cannot reasonably comply with the request for improvement, grant a reduction on the price.
    3. The client’s right to make a claim ceases when s/he has modified the work that was delivered or had it modified by another party, and has delivered it subsequently to a third party.
  7. Liability, Warranty

    1. The translator is liable only for loss or damages that are the direct and demonstrable consequence of a shortcoming of the translator for which he can be held accountable by law. The translator is never liable for any other form of damage, such as loss of profit or damage due to delay. The liability is in any case limited to an amount equal to the invoiced value without VAT of the assignment in question and can never exceed € 2.000 per assignment.
    2. Ambiguities in the text to be translated release the translator of any liability.
    3. The assessment whether a text to be translated or the translation entails any risk of bodily harm is entirely at the expense and risk of the client; the client will guard the translator against any claim by third parties in connection with bodily injury arising from the use of the work delivered.
    4. The translator is not liable for damage or loss of documents, information or data carriers that were put at her/his disposal for the execution of the assignment. The translator is not liable for damage arising from the use of information technology and modern means of telecommunication.
    5. The client is obliged to guard the translator from any claim from third parties in which the translator does not accept liability which is nevertheless asserted by third parties.
  8. Termination

    1. The translator is entitled, if the client does not fulfil her/his obligations, as well as in case of bankruptcy, judicial administration or liquidation of the business of the client, to rescind the assignment completely or partially, without any obligation to compensation, or suspend the execution thereof. In this case, the translator can demand the immediate payment of what is due to her/him.
    2. If the translator, because of circumstances not under her/his control, is unable to fulfil her/his obligations, s/he is entitled to rescind the assignment without any obligation to compensation. If the translator had, at the time of the force majeure, already partially fulfilled her/his obligations, s/he is entitled to invoice the already completed parts separately and the client is obliged to pay this invoice as if it pertained to a separate agreement. The circumstances in question include but are not limited to fire, accident, illness, work strikes, riots, war, governmental measures, barriers to transportation, and other circumstances beyond her/his control.
  9. Copyright

    1. Unless expressly agreed otherwise in writing, the translator retains the copyright on translations and other texts produced by her/him.
    2. The client shall guard the translator against all claims from third parties for alleged infringement of property rights, patents, authors’, or other intellectual property rights in connection with the execution of the agreement.
  10. Applicable Law and Registration in the KBO

    1. The version in Dutch of these Terms & Conditions has prevalence over versions in other languages.
    2. The agreement between client and translator shall be governed by Belgian law.
    3. All disputes and claims will be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the competent Belgian court. The courts of Antwerpen have jurisdiction.
    4. The translator is registered at the Kruispuntbank voor Ondernemingen (Company Registry) under number BE 0669.891.403.
The latest version of these Terms & Conditions dates from 6/03/2017.

visit our webpages about us, our travels, et cetera

we thank you for your preference

turtle logo

Conditions générales

Ces conditions générales sont d’application à toutes les relations juridiques entre l’entreprise free-lance de traduction Toucheguy (ci-après : le traducteur) et la personne physique ou juridique qui a donné le travail au traducteur (ci-après : le client), à l’exclusion des conditions générales ou autres termes et conditions de commandes, bons de commande ou similaires du client, à moins que le traducteur ait accepté leur application explicitement et par écrit.

  1. Devis, conclusion du contrat

    1. Tous les tarifs et devis du traducteur sont sans engagement.
    2. Aucun droit pour des commandes futures ne saurait être fondé sur des citations, devis et accords (cadre) du passé.
    3. Les tarifs et les délais proposés peuvent à tout moment être révoqués si le traducteur n’ait pu consulter le texte complet à l’avance. Le contrat est établi par l’acceptation par écrit par le client du devis du traducteur ou – si aucun devis n'ait été soumis – par l’acceptation par écrit par le traducteur de la commande passée par le client. Dès ce moment le client est obligé de payer.
    4. Au moment de la conclusion du contrat, le client fournit immédiatement au traducteur tous les documents, sources, glossaires et autres matériaux nécessaires ou utiles à l’exécution de la commande, sauf si autrement convenu dans le contrat. Au cas de livraison tardive de matériaux clés par le client, le délai de livraison sera implicitement prolongé avec la durée de ce retard. D’autre part, le traducteur a le droit dans ce cas de refuser encore la commande.
    5. L’envoi des documents concernés est pour le compte et aux risques du client.
    6. Le traducteur peut considérer comme client la personne lui ayant passé la commande, sauf si cette personne ait fait savoir explicitement au moment du contrat agir comme représentant, au nom et pour compte d’un tiers, à condition de fournir le nom en l’adresse du tiers au traducteur au moment de la conclusion du contrat.
  2. Modification ou annulation de contrats

    1. Si le client, après la conclusion du contrat, introduit des modifications plus que de nature mineure à la commande, le traducteur a le droit d’ajuster le délai de livraison et/ou la rémunération ou de refuser encore le contrat. Dans ce dernier cas, le client est tenu de payer la partie déjà réalisée du contrat.
    2. Si une commande est annulée par le client, celui-ci est tenu de payer la partie déjà réalisée du contrat, ainsi que une rémunération basée sur un taux horaire pour les travaux de recherche déjà réalisés pour la partie pas encore traduite. En outre, le client doit payer une indemnisation forfaitaire de 25% de la rémunération convenue, avec un minimum de € 50 pour couvrir les frais d’administration. Le traducteur met la partie du travail déjà effectuée à la disposition du client.
  3. Exécution du contrat, confidentialité

    1. Le traducteur est tenu de réaliser le travail au mieux de ses compétences et de ses connaissances et en conformité avec les exigences de qualité du métier.
    2. Le traducteur traitera toutes les informations que le client met à sa disposition avec la plus grande confidentialité.
    3. Sauf si le contraire ait été décidé explicitement, le traducteur a le droit de passer (une partie de) la commande à un tiers, sans préjudice de sa responsabilité pour le traitement confidentiel et la bonne exécution du contrat. Le traducteur exigera de ses éventuels collaborateurs de garder le secret. Le traducteur n’est toutefois pas responsable pour la violation de la confidentialité par ces collaborateurs.
    4. Le traducteur ne peut prendre aucune responsabilité pour des défauts et erreurs dans le texte fourni par le client.
  4. Échéance et date de la livraison

    1. Le délai de livraison convenu est un délai cible, sauf si convenu autrement par écrit. Le traducteur est tenu, dès qu’il lui devient clair que la fourniture à temps n’est pas possible, d’en informer immédiatement le client.
    2. Au cas d’un dépassement imputable du délai convenu, le client peut, s’il ne peut plus raisonnablement attendre plus longtemps la réalisation du travail, annuler unilatéralement le contrat. Dans ce cas, le traducteur ne lui doit aucune indemnisation.
    3. La livraison est sensée avoir eu lieu au moment de l’envoi. La livraison de données par voie électronique est sensée avoir eu lieu au moment ou le programme utilisé confirme l’envoi.
  5. Rémunération et paiement

    1. La rémunération est basée en principe sur un tarif par mot. Pour d’autres travaux que la traduction, une rémunération basée sur un tarif horaire peut être facturée.
    2. Tous les montants sont en euro et hors Taxe sur la valeur ajoutée (TVA), sauf si le contraire est décidé explicitement.
    3. Si un délai de paiement a été convenu, le paiement doit être effectué dans ledit délai. Dans tous les autres cas, un délai de paiement de 30 jours est en vigueur, conformément à la Directive européenne 2000/35/CE.
    4. En cas de retard de paiement, le client est immédiatement et sans mise en demeure en défaut, dans quel cas le client doit payer l’intérêt légal sur le montant de la facture, à partir de la date du défaut jusqu’à la date du paiement complet.
    5. Tous les frais de recouvrement judiciaires et extrajudiciaires, les honoraires des avocats, huissiers et frais des agences de recouvrement de dette inclus, seront pour compte du client.
    6. En cas de non-respect par le client des conditions de paiement convenues, toutes les factures et/ou dettes deviennent immédiatement dues et le traducteur a le droit, sans mise en demeure ou intervention judiciaire, de suspendre les livraisons et/ou prestations suivantes ou de considérer le contrat comme nul et non advenu, sans préjudice de ses demandes d’indemnisation.
    7. Le traducteur a le droit, avant de commencer le travail, de demander un paiement en parties pendant l’exécution de la commande. Si dans un tel cas, le client ne se tient pas aux conditions de paiement convenues dans le sens du point 5.iii ci-dessus, le traducteur a le droit de suspendre ses obligations et/ou d’annuler le contrat. En cas de suspension ou d’annulation, le traducteur conserve le droit à une compensation pour le travail déjà effectué.
    8. Si le client estime que les montants facturés par le traducteur sont incorrects, il doit en avertir le traducteur dans le délai de paiement convenu dans le sens du point 5.iii ci-dessus avec une objection par écrit et spécifiée. Si ce qui est spécifié dans le point 5.iii ci-dessus n’est pas respecté, le client perd son droit d’objection contre la valeur ou la composition du montant de la facture.
  6. Plaintes et litiges

    1. Le client doit rapporter par écrit ses plaintes à propos du travail livré le plus rapidement au traducteur, au plus tard dans les dix (10) jours ouvrables après livraison. Faire une complainte ne libère pas le client de son obligation de payer pour le travail dans le délai établi.
    2. Si la complainte est fondée, le traducteur améliorera ou remplacera ce qui a été délivré dans un délai raisonnable, ou, si le traducteur ne peut pas raisonnablement satisfaire à la demande d’amélioration, accordera une réduction sur le prix.
    3. Le droit à faire une complainte cesse si le client a modifié le travail livré ou l’a fait modifier et l’a ensuite livré à un tiers.
  7. Responsabilités, sauvegarde

    1. Le traducteur est uniquement responsable pour les pertes et dommages qui sont une conséquence directe et démontrable d’omissions imputables au traducteur. Le traducteur n’est jamais responsable pour toute autre forme de dommages, tels que les dommages économiques, dommages dus au retard ou pertes de revenus. La responsabilité ne peut en tout cas dépasser une valeur égale au montant de la facture excl. TVA de la commande en question et ne peut jamais dépasser € 2.000 par contrat.
    2. Des ambiguïtés dans le texte à traduire déchargent le traducteur de toute responsabilité.
    3. L’évaluation de savoir si un texte à traduire ou le texte traduit comporte certains risques de blessure corporelle reste complètement à la charge et au risque du client ; le client sauvegardera le traducteur contre toute réclamation de tiers concernant des blessures corporelles découlant de l’utilisation de la traduction délivrée.
    4. Le traducteur n’est pas responsable pour les dommages aux ou la perte de documents, informations ou supports d’information qui ont été mis à sa disposition pour l’exécution du contrat. Le traducteur n’est pas non plus responsable pour des dommages résultant de l’utilisation de technologies informatiques et de moyens modernes de télécommunication.
    5. Le client doit sauvegarder le traducteur de toutes les réclamations de tiers par rapport auxquels le traducteur n’accepte aucune responsabilité, mais dans lesquels il est néanmoins mis en cause par des tiers.
  8. Résiliation

    1. Si le client ne remplit pas ses obligations, ainsi qu’en cas de faillite, de règlement judiciaire ou de liquidation de l’entreprise du client, le traducteur peut, sans aucune obligation de compensation, résilier le contrat en tout ou en partie ou en suspendre l’exécution. Dans ces cas, le traducteur peut exiger le paiement immédiat de ce qui lui est dû.
    2. Si le traducteur, pour des raisons indépendantes de sa volonté, est dans l’incapacité de remplir ses obligations, il/elle peut résilier le contrat sans aucune obligation de compensation. Si, au moment de l’entrée de la force majeure, il/elle a déjà partiellement rempli ses obligations, il/elle peut facturer séparément le travail déjà effectué et le client est alors tenu de payer cette facture comme s’il s’agissait d’un contrat distinct. Ces circonstances de force majeure incluent, mais ne sont limitées à : incendie, accident, maladie, grève, émeute, guerre, mesures gouvernementales, entrave aux transports, ou autres circonstances sur lesquelles le traducteur ne peut exercer aucune influence.
  9. Droits d’auteur

    1. Sauf accord explicite et par écrit du contraire, le traducteur conserve le droit d’auteur sur les traductions et autres textes qu’il/elle a produits.
    2. Le client sauvegarde le traducteur contre toute allégation de tiers pour des violations des droits de propriété, de brevet, d’auteur ou autres droits de propriété intellectuelle dans le cadre de l’exécution du contrat.
  10. Droit applicable et inscription dans la BCE

    1. La version néerlandophone de ces Conditions générales prévaut sur les versions dans d’autres langues.
    2. Le contrat entre le client et le traducteur est régi par le droit belge.
    3. Tous les litiges et réclamations seront soumis au jugement exclusif des tribunaux belges compétents. Les tribunaux d’Antwerpen sont habilités.
    4. Le traducteur est inscrit à la Banque carrefour des entreprises sous le numéro BE 0669.891.403.
Dernière version de ces Conditions générales: 6/03/2017.

visitez nos pages web à propos de nous, nos voyages, etc.

nous vous remercions pour votre préférence